Opiate Prison of Mine

I have an addiction

I have a disease

It creates friction

For you and me

It rubs you wrong

When I am in need

Cravings are strong

I cannot be freed

 

This is a parasite

Eating on my soul

It is too strong to fight

I’m losing control

My skin crawls

I want to scream

As the axe falls

It cuts down my dreams

 

Another pill I take and imagine I’m free

Choices that I make are a prison for me

In this Opiate Prison of Mine

I am serving time

I am a number, just a statistic

Of this growing epidemic

 

I have an addiction

I have a disease

It creates friction

In society

I am low class

White and poor

Treated like trash

At the drugstore

 

This is a parasite

It lives and feeds

I must supply it

With all that it needs

Turn medication

Into a crushed dream

I toss and I turn

I itch and I scream

 

They think the scourge is me

They think that I want to be

In this opiate prison of mine

Where I am serving time

I am a number, just a statistic

I represent this epidemic

 

I have an addiction, I have a disease

Leave a Reply

