I’m not a superficial guy

You don’t have to remind me of what I don’t have

Trust me, I am well aware of that

I can feel your apathy and it gets under my skin

Seriously? Here we go again

I know you grew up in the upper middle-class

I grew up dirt poor and busting my ass

Reality is, things don’t always go your way

I work little harder and pray for a better day

I don’t decorate my house with towels I can’t use

I don’t pay neighborhood association dues

My nose isn’t in the air when I walk by

I guess I’m not a superficial guy

My sofa and my loveseat don’t match

I don’t count chickens before they hatch

I don’t buy things so I can appease

Those that judge a person by his luxuries

 

Leave a Reply

