Things I Wish I’d Done

 

I was going to cherish every moment of every day

I would always have the time, I would make a way

I made myself this promise as I held my newborn son

Now the things I said I’d do, are things I wish I’d done

 

I stay so busy it’s like I’m always on the run

The things I said I’d do, become things I wish I’d done

If my younger self could only see what has become

I bet he’d do all the things I wish I’d done

 

My wife sees the look that’s on my face

I thought by now we would have a nicer place

I look down at the years on my wedding ring

Sometimes I feel the pressure of everything

 

I stay so busy it’s like I’m always on the run

The things I said I’d do, become things I wish I’d done

If my younger self could only see what has become

I bet he’d do all the things I wish I’d done

 

I can count on one had the times that we’ve done this

Sit on the bank of the river and try to fish

It relaxes my mind, I guess we’ve done alright

I’m sitting here, and my family is here by my side

 

I am changing now, don’t like what I’ve become

The things I said I’d do, won’t be things I wish I’d done

Sitting here with wife and kids, soaking up the sun

The things I said I’d do are not things I wish I’d done

 

Leave a Reply

