Turn To Ashes

Every sound seems louder, every noise distracts

I have to close my eyes to remember where I’m at

Every touch smothers, feels like I can’t breathe

At times I want to run away, I want to scream

 

When the sirens wail and bright light flashes

Once again I see my world turn to ashes

I am consumed by the fear buried deep inside

Overcome by the anxiety I try so hard to hide

 

My thoughts, more scattered than they’ve ever been

I am much too old to play a game of pretend

I don’t have it all together and I accept I never will

I may be seen as broken but at least they know I’m real

 

When the sirens wail and bright light flashes

Once again I see my world turn to ashes

I am consumed by the fear buried deep inside

Overcome by the anxiety I try so hard to hide

 

I was barefoot on the street on a cold night

I stood and watched the flames kiss the sky

I tell everyone it was a blessing in disguise

But in my smoke-stained heart, I still wonder why

 

When the sirens wail and bright light flashes

Once again I see my world turn to ashes

I am consumed by the fear buried deep inside

Overcome by the anxiety I try so hard to hide

 

Leave a Reply

