Weary Traveler – On My Way Home

Have you ever had a moment that’s like waking from a nap?

You look around and wonder where you’re at.

I have walked five hundred miles, blinded by the haze

I awoke to find that I’ve been lost for days

 

I travelled to the recesses of my weary mind

I do not know what I thought that I would find

The paths, dark and treacherous, nearly my demise

I awoke this morning and the sunlight hit my eyes

 

The fog is slowly lifting, the sun reveals the way

The shadows of darkness all flee the light of day

Tired from my travels, but I will press on

I am no longer lost, I’m on my way home

 

I am plagued with thoughts that always multiply

A brilliant distraction from routines of life

Hypnotized by the eclipse of my mind

I look and behold, I’m temporarily blind

 

Sometimes I am a coward, and turn to run

Burdens and responsibilities I seek to shun

When I’m in that place nobody understands

All I need is for someone to take my hand

 

The fog is slowly lifting, the sun reveals the way

The shadows of darkness all flee the light of day

Tired from my travels, but I will press on

I am no longer lost, I’m on my way home

 

The fog is slowly lifting, the Son reveals the Way

Shadows and darkness all flee the light of day

This weary traveler has courage to press on

I am no longer lost, I am right where I belong

I am on my way home

 

 

Leave a Reply

