Remnant of a Rose

Son please come near, sit down at my side

See the rosebush out the window looks as though it died

Take a piece of that rose and plant it in the ground

It will start to grow when May rains come around

 

My time is drawing near, they’ll lay me in the ground

But will return when the Lord comes back around

I will soon be in His presence, where the angels sing

I’ll be a remnant of a rose, waiting for the spring

 

When the flowers bloom, I hope you think of me

Show them to the grandkids I will never meet

If they ask about me, tell them this one thing

I’m like the remnant of a rose, waiting for the spring

 

As I kid I saw the roses glisten in morning dew

Daddy told me stories about the man I never knew

He even taught me the songs he would sing

He was a remnant of a rose, waiting for the spring

 

Son please come near, sit down by my side

Take me by the hand, lead me to the other side

I think I already hear the angels as they sing

I am a remnant of a rose, waiting for the spring

 

Leave a Reply

