Street Preacher

After 4 long years of seminary I made it through

Theology, history, Greek and Hebrew

Feeling accomplished as I walked down the street

I saw homeless man begging for a bite to eat

I pulled out my Bible and I walked his way

I thought I knew exactly the words to say

He read my motives, before I could start

The words he said, pierced my heart

 

Don’t put notches in your Bible like a gospel gun

Of all the damned souls you can’t even save one

All your understanding makes a tempting crutch

Do you trust in the Lord – or have you given up?

Trust in the Lord – with your heart soul and mind

Not in a one-time prayer – but till the end of time

Know the work He started in you – he will complete

The Lord will light your path – a lamp unto your feet

 

Remember when you ran to him with child-like faith

Before you knew enough to point out every mistake

Gain your understanding – no matter the cost

But never forget how it feels to be lost

A lost soul doesn’t really care about your degree

What I’d really like to see is someone like me

The way you were that day, broken without pride

When the walls come down and you reveal Christ inside

 

 

Don’t put notches in your Bible like a gospel gun

Of all the damned souls you can’t even save one

All your understanding makes a tempting crutch

Do you trust in the Lord – or have you given up?

Trust in the Lord – with your heart soul and mind

Not in a one-time prayer – but till the end of time

Know the work He started in you – he will complete

The Lord will light your path – a lamp unto your feet

 

Remember when you ran to me with child-like faith

Remember the tears you cried when you were saved

Hearing these words, it started to rain

I cried out loud for forgiveness again

I was on my knees all alone in the street

Passersby talked and they stared at me

Then a tattered man approached me from the shadow

“Street Preacher, would you help a troubled soul?”

 

Leave a Reply

