My Heart Song

If I were standing in circle unbroken

All attention on the words to be spoken

And by and by the music did start

What would be the song of my heart?

 

My heart song is like a tune from Johnny Cash

Dust turns into dust and ashes turn to ash

Slow and steady beat like a train down the track

My heart walks the line and my soul is dressed in black

 

Memories of Reno have left many scars

They cover my heart like Folsom prison bars

I see the weeping willow, crying in my head

I think about those I love, living and dead

 

My heart song is like a tune from Johnny Cash

Dust turns into dust and ashes turn to ash

Slow and steady beat like a train down the track

My heart walks the line and my soul is dressed in black

 

In my cleanest dirty shirt, I walk down the street

I kick a can for a while, and recall a memory

Memories of all the things I love begin to fade

Disappearing like the dreams of yesterday

 

My heart song is like a tune from Johnny Cash

Dust turns into dust and ashes turn to ash

Slow and steady beat like a train down the track

My heart walks the line and my soul is dressed in black

 

Hurt was felt when I wrote down these words

I reflect on my past and I pray to the lord

A rambler and gambler, destined to be shot down

I was lying in death and until the Man come around

 

Leave a Reply

