Shots of Jager, Shots of Gin

I was on my way to the grocery store

I needed milk and bread and nothing more

I had music playing loud in my car

took a wrong turn ended up at the bar

 

now it’s shots of Jager, shots of gin

wondering what I’m doing back here again

sitting like a king on my barstool throne

I might just stay here all night long

 

Through the front door, walked my friend Ed

I said ‘hey Ed, I thought you were dead’

I haven’t seen you in two long years

He said the wife he had wouldn’t let him come here

 

but now it’s shots of Jager, shots of gin

It’s good to have him back here again

sitting like kings on our barstool thrones

Until his next ex-wife comes along

 

I saw a girl I hadn’t seen before

I knew that I wanted to see more

I ordered a drink, then turned my head

In time to see her leaving the bar with Ed

 

now it’s shots of Jager, shots of gin

wondering what I’m doing back here again

sitting like a king on my barstool throne

I might just stay here all night long

 

(Jake Sharp 2004)

 

Leave a Reply

