Trying to touch your wings

(updated – I forgot a verse) 

I’ve watched the life of a beauty through best friend eyes

I’ve always been there to hear your cries

Even now, right beside you, I am so far away

From where I thought I would be by today

 

I’m like a kid in a garden – chasing a butterfly

He knows he’ll never catch it – but still he tries

It’s an inspiration that a man still can dream

I keep reaching for the sky, trying to touch your wings

 

Sunday School together when we both were young

I can still remember all the songs that we sung

I’d sit right beside you and together we’d pray

You’re an angel – but you’re so far away

 

I’m like a kid in a garden – chasing a butterfly

He knows he’ll never catch it – but still he tries

It’s an inspiration that a man still can dream

I keep reaching for the sky, trying to touch your wings

 

If I could only catch you, I’d know true love

Till then I’ll keep reaching for the sky up above

Maybe one day you’ll turn those pretty eyes to me

My heart is hanging out here on my sleeve

 

I’m like a kid in a garden – chasing a butterfly

He knows he’ll never catch it – but still he tries

It’s an inspiration that a man still can dream

I keep reaching for the sky, trying to touch your wings

(Jake Sharp 1999)

 

Leave a Reply

