If the Stars did fall

If the stars did fall and the sun did not shine

I would die with an uneasy mind

And uneasy mind – unforgiven soul

But tomorrow I swear I’ll let her know

(these were the saddest words I’d ever written. Not because of the words I wrote, but because they came true, and my fear was realized)

There she goes – driving away

I did not say what I wanted to say

Another day – has gone by

Now I look up at the sky

If the stars did fall and the sun did not shine

I would die with an uneasy mind

An uneasy mind – unforgiven soul

Tomorrow I swear I’ll let her know

(before I got up the courage to tell her how I felt, she died suddenly in a car accident. It felt as if the stars did fall and the sun did not shine – I went through the darkest time of my life. I did not finish this, because it hurt too much. I tucked it away until almost thirty years passed by. I now add to what I had started long ago)

Then the stars fell from the sky

Oh how I did cry

There was no light in my world

I had lost a beautiful girl

The stars did fall and the sun did not shine

Thought I would die with an uneasy mind

Uneasy mind, unforgiven soul

There was a plan that I did not know

 

I see a girl, dressed in white

And the stars light up this night

It was dark, where I’ve been

But the sun does rise again

If the stars did fall and the sun did not shine

In the arms of my love, I’d be just fine

Lucky to find, a beautiful soul

Awakened in me what was lost long ago

 

(Where I am now – still struggling through daily life – but blessed with a family of my own – is a place of peace. Past pain has helped me to appreciate the peace and love. As for the girl I lost long ago, my wife assures me ‘a girl always knows’)
2 thoughts on “If the Stars did fall

  1. Thank you for reading and commenting. Life is short. Tragedy seems to highlight that fact. I find tragedy helps put everything in the right perspective…if only we didn’t lose that perspective in the daily grind of life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

