Wave your flag – 4th of July

Exploding thoughts, all incomplete

A soldier that fought, faces defeat

Prisoner of war inside my own head

I would rather have come back dead

So wave your flag – this Fourth of July

For Freedom rings and the widows cry

And men like me that you see everyday

Will never let on that they feel this way

Exploding lights, all remind me

I close my eyes, the things that I see

I fight hard to leave it behind

But the war still rages in my mind

So wave your flag – this Fourth of July

For Freedom rings and the widows cry

And men like me that you see everyday

Will never let on that they feel this way

For anxiety, they give me a pill

And my family think I will heal

For my friends and those that love me

I pretend I am the same man I used to be

So wave your flag – this Fourth of July

For Freedom rings and the widows cry

And men like me that you see everyday

Will never let on that they feel this way

 

(disclaimer: I never served in the military. I have the utmost respect for all that have, all that do, and all that will. I thank you for your service, and pray we do a better job at serving our veterans once they return home.)

Leave a Reply

