Glory and Fame

(dust bowl rebel)

My daddy worked hard, mama did too, I was home alone

At the age of five I was picking fights and talking in a somber tone

Days I spent out of school listening to rebel songs

Mama came home late one night and found that I was gone

I may be crazy – my mind may be hazy

I was cut against the grain – learned to withstand the pain

Ain’t lived the good life – but maybe one night

Things are gonna change – I’ll find glory and fame

I had no friends, just a bottle of gyn, and an eye for the road

From the dry desert dust in a stolen truck, to San Fran I drove

Without a home and without a care, nights can be so cold

I was cheating to win and I began, to dig a six foot hole

I may be crazy – my mind may be hazy

I was cut against the grain – learned to withstand the pain

Ain’t lived the good life – but maybe one night

Things are gonna change – I’ll find glory and fame

Now it’s been years since I’ve been here, but today I’m breaking free

Ten years ago, the judge said ‘no’ to my innocent plea

I explained that from the winds, I had dust clouds in my head

Between the dust and the wind, and the sun and gyn, someone had to turn up dead

I may be crazy – my mind’s still hazy

I was cut against the grain – dealt with all the pain

I hate living this prison life – But maybe this night

Things are gonna change – and I’ll find glory and fame

I see my chance, make my move, the guard’s gun is in my hand

Blood on my shoes, doing all I can do, I know I just killed a good man

I think about mama and daddy, still never knowing where I went

I’m glad they can’t see me now, being shot as I climb the fence

I have been crazy, my vision’s getting hazy

I was cut against the grain, now I’m lying here in pain

And after all my life, finally tonight

Everything has changed, this is my glory and fame

(Found this in an old folder, wrote it for a 10th grade history project (1995-96), putting myself into the dust bowl)

Leave a Reply

