I’m Sorry

my friend  

I am sitting at a red light in the rain.

Thinking about the path that’s led me here.

Reflecting on days of great pain.

In this moment, I know, God is near.

 

Stillness is where I hear His Voice.

With this thought I turn off the radio.

In the city I sit surrounded by noise.

I pray for direction on which way to go.

 

Peace like living water was falling from the sky.

And a tear I felt was forming in my eye.

Not made of regret, but only memories,

of the mercy that my God has had on me.

 

December always brings a certain chill.

I remember the kid I was at seventeen.

The first painful loss, exactly how it feels.

Flashbacks of red and blonde, the light turns green.

 

Driving down the road, my eyes heavy.

In the years that passed I have travelled far.

Why was I blessed and kept away?

Set aside for a purpose I suppose.

 

I see the face of friend

I have memories of him

He once cried with me

In his death I should grieve

But I stay busy…

In the night I stay awake

I take pills everyday

I study and work so hard

Still don’t feel I do my part.

Busy…not even time to grieve

 

I’m sorry, friend.

You’re worth the tear I refuse to cry.

 

my love

I am sitting at a building in the rain

Thinking about the path that’s led me here

It is for God’s glory, not for my gain

In this moment I know God is near.

 

I am beside myself, a passenger

On the train that is going down the track

I am not in control, just a messenger

At moments like this I pause and look back

 

Peace like living water is falling from the sky

And a tear I feel forming in my eye

Not of regret but only memories

Of the mercy that God has had on me

 

December reminds me of new love

I remember that day I was wearing black

Looking back, my God above

Has always been the guiding track

 

Opening the door, my heart beats

Through the years, since, we have travelled so far

Why were we blessed in such a way?

Set aside for a purpose I suppose.

 

I see the places we’ve been

I have memories of them

She brought life to this world

She deserves so much more

But I stay busy…

In the night I stay awake

I take pills everyday

I study and work so hard

Yet still don’t do my part

Busy…not even time to be…her man

 

I’m sorry, Love.

You’re worth the time that I don’t give.

 

my God

I am sitting in the light out of the rain

Thinking about the path that’s led me here

Reflecting on the day everything changed

How in that moment God felt so near

 

Stillness of night

his quite voice “Arise”

Awakened in me

A fire burning deep

But I stay busy…

I am awake every night

I take pills everyday

I study and work so hard

But I do not do my part

Busy…Not even time to pray

 

I’m sorry, God

You’re worth the praise that I forget to give.

Leave a Reply

