Why am I here?

I’ve been talking to myself, and pretending that it’s you

My life has gone to hell and there’s nothing I can do

So I open up my flask, and I take another sip

Close my eyes and ask – God, how’d it come to this?

 

Why am I here, but still I’m gone – how long ago did I go wrong

Where is that straight and narrow line – is it only in my mind

Help me find my way home

 

There’s no answer to my prayer, so I walk out in the street

There’s a cold and empty stare in everyone I meet

So I walk into the bar – lay some money down

I wish upon a star – and have another round

 

Why am I here, but still I’m gone – how long ago did I go wrong

Where is that straight and narrow line – is it only in my mind

Help me find my way home

 

Staggering lost down the road, and looking for my mind

Feels like my soul is sold, and I’m running out of time

Is there someone to save me? – please let me see her face

There’s no way I can be free – in this cold and lonely place

 

Why am I here, but still I’m gone – how long ago did I go wrong

Where is that straight and narrow line – is it only in my mind

Help me find my way home

 

(Jake Sharp 2004)

 

Leave a Reply

