I don’t see the beauty

I think I  broke a finger trying to kill a bug on the wall

I nearly fell down the stairs, over the clothes in the hall

Its almost midnight, children should be fast asleep

But one by one they rattle off things they need from me

I know I should feel blessed, look at things I have,

but all I really have are obligations I can’t meet

Everyone around has expectations of how I should be

Like you expect this to rhyme or fit a certain measure 

 

I don’t see the beauty – in the little things of this life

I don’t see the beauty in anything at all tonight

 

This apartment is junk, living like the scum of the earth

Kept in poverty, helping the man grow his net worth

The condition of my home, much like that of my mind

The wolves come howling, cause rent is one week behind

Can’t I have a moment to scream? For goodness sake,

Sick of fake smiles, from shallow minds of hearts that break

I know I should feel blessed, but I can’t put this feeling on the shelf

Go tell your silver lining fairytales to someone more like yourself

 

I don’t see the beauty of the moon in the sky

I don’t see the beauty of the stars at night

Not in the mood to look on the bright side

I don’t see the beauty in anything  at all tonight.

 

I pray that in the morning, the sunrise will bring beauty

But as I close my eyes tonight, all I see is misery

 

I don’t see the beauty in dreams of the night

I don’t see the beauty in anything – tonight

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

