Here’s to You

Thinking of the old days when life was young

Somehow I lost my way, but what’s done is done

Alone with my fourth glass of some English Wine

My heart sinks really fast, back to another time

 

And Here’s to you, as I lose my mind

Love once was true, back in another time

Now we’re through, I’ve got bourbon and wine

I still love you, but I’m drinking myself blind

 

It burns me now to think that you played me

Daddy always told me, ‘son play for keeps’

I’m keeping your memory right here in my hand

Now I’m downing whiskey to help me understand

 

And Here’s to you, as I lose my mind

Love once was true, back in another time

Now we’re through, I’ve got bourbon and wine

I still love you, but I’m drinking myself blind

 

I’m thinking of the old days when life was young.

(Jake Sharp, 2000)

 

Leave a Reply

