A day in my life – In Tennessee

I woke up to disappointment this morning

I took a look at my life and I realized

I’d be better off to just go back to bed

But that morning sun kept shining in eyes

 

So I got up and had a cold pizza breakfast

Washed it down with a glass of sweet tea

Sit down on my ragged red sofa

And watched Paula Zhan on my TV

 

And they’re talking about the loss of innocent life

I’m wondering why the hell they’re asking why

And I’m thinking about the way life has to be

Another day in my life in Tennessee

 

I drove down the street and got a hometown haircut

Now I’m looking in the mirror at my hairline

It’s just another little thing to remind me

Of the ever present passing of time

And the radio is playing the latest tune

The clock on the wall says that its noon

Time doesn’t matter much to me

Another day in my life in Tennessee

 

And on the street outside cars rush by

People going to and from their lives

I see the autumn leaves in the breeze

Another day if my life in Tennessee

 

So I numb the pain with pills and Jim Beam

Another day in my life in Tennessee

(Jake Sharp – 2001)

Leave a Reply

