On a Night Such As This

            I feel like I make empty promises

            I watch you suffer through the pain

            I want us to laugh like we once did

            I want to dance with you in the rain

            Wash away the cares that weigh us down

            Remember the excitement of our kiss

            Explosive, life changing love we found

            It was on a night such as this

            I see the sadness you try to hide

            I know you deserve so much more

            I should always stand by your side

            Instead of punching holes in the door

            Wash away the cares that weigh us down

            Remember the excitement of our kiss

           Explosive, life changing love we found

           It was on a night such as this

          I sit here awake as the world sleeps

          I want to wake you up and share my heart

         Words and sleep don’t come easily

         I quietly place this note on the bed…

         Wash away the cares that weigh us down

          I promise we will dance in the rain

         Explosive, life changing love we found

        Everyone thought we were insane

        I still feel the excitement when we kiss

        It’s hard to let you sleep on a night such as this

Leave a Reply

