Unfinished Song

In an oak chest in the basement

Of the house my family has lived in for so long

I found the things of a soldier

A grey hat, some letters and an unfinished song

It hit hard to read about his hell

Life is tough if you can’t trust a soul

After reading all his letters

I think this is how his song should go

It’s like I’m caught between the crossroads

These days I just don’t know – which way to go

There is fighting everywhere I look

Common folks are common crooks – and hearts are cold

Preparing for battle, with God’s help we will win this fight

But I know on the other side, there’s a man praying for his life

North and South – Blue and Grey, it’s all dividing in my head

Pulling the trigger of this rifle, then finding my kin among the dead

It’s like I’m caught between the crossroads

These days I just don’t know – which way to go

There is fighting everywhere I look

Common folks are common crooks – and hearts are cold

 

I closed the oak chest and thought about life

And the way that things have been

Times do change, but the heart of man

Is as accursed as it was back then

It’s like I’m caught between the crossroads

These days I just don’t know – which way to go

There is fighting everywhere I look

Common folks are common crooks – and hearts are cold

 

Leave a Reply

